12 Nursing Certifications for American Nurses

12 Nursing Certifications for American Nurses

Nursing certification is critical to providing the best care for your patients. There are many different types of certifications, each offering different skills and knowledge. By becoming certified, you can prove to your patients that you are a competent and qualified nurse.

One of the most critical aspects of nursing care is the correct assessment of the patient's condition. This includes consideration of their medical history, current symptoms, and vital signs. By becoming certified,doctor of nursing practice programme in asia you can show your patients that you have the skills and knowledge needed to assess their condition and properly develop a treatment plan.

1.Basic Nursing Certification

Earn this certification after completing the registered nurse exam.

2.Basic life support

Basic life support nurse certification is the process by which nurses become certified in basic life support techniques.masters in nursing programme in asia For example, BLS certification teaches you how to perform CPR and use an AED, which can be critical in an emergency.

3. Advanced cardiovascular life support

Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support certification or ACLS certification is required. ACLS certification demonstrates your knowledge and skills in managing cardiac arrest patients and builds upon BLS certification.

4. Pediatric advanced life support

Pediatric Advanced Life Support certification is essential for nearly everyone in the nursing field. PALS certification demonstrates that you have the skills and knowledge to provide optimal care for children during emergencies.

Once you become an LPN or RPN, you can expand your skills with these certifications.

1. General and Specialty Wound Care Certification

There are two main types of wound care certification: general and professional. General certification is for nurses who wish to be able to care for a variety of wounds. Specialty certification is for nurses who want to specialize in specific types of wounds, such as pressure ulcers or diabetic wounds.

2.IV therapy certification

IV therapy certification shows that you can effectively perform IV therapy as part of any treatment. After passing the certification exam, you will be able to practice IV therapy certification certified by the Board of Registered Nursing. This certificate will demonstrate that you are a qualified IV therapy nurse and will help you advance your career.

3. Long-term care certification

Long-term care certification for nurses allows nurses to demonstrate their knowledge and skills in providing care to patients with chronic illnesses or disabilities.

In addition to passing the exam, nurses must complete at least 30 continuing education courses on topics related to long-term care, such as geriatric care, chronic disease management or palliative care.

4. Registered Pediatric Nurse

Certified pediatric nurses earn higher salaries and have better job security than noncertified nurses. This certification also allows nurses to specialize in pediatric care. Earning certification can help advance your career by placing you in professional positions or nursing management positions.

5. Acute/Intensive Care Nursing

Nurses certified in acute/critical care nursing provide care to patients with life-threatening illnesses such as heart attack, stroke, and respiratory failure. They also care for patients who are recovering from surgery or injured in an accident.

Emergency and critical care nurses must possess excellent clinical skills, think quickly and make decisions under pressure.

6. AIDS registered nurse

This highly specialized certification allows nurses to care for people with AIDS. The AIDS Certified Registered Nurse program teaches nurses how to care for HIV-positive and AIDS patients.

The program covers a variety of topics, including providing care for patients in the early stages of HIV, managing symptoms of the disease and how to prevent the spread of the disease.

7. Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Certificate

If you choose a master's degree in nursing, you'll have the opportunity to earn a higher-level nursing certification, leading to a higher salary and more responsibility. If you want to become an APRN, here are a few options to consider:

Practical nurse

A nurse practitioner is a specific type of practical nurse who has completed additional education and training. A wide range of primary care services can be provided, including diagnosing and treating illnesses, ordering and interpreting tests, prescribing medications and preventive care consultations.

Registered Nurse Anesthetist

A certified registered nurse anesthetist, or CRNA, specializes in anesthesia administration. To become a CRNA, you must first become a registered nurse and complete a master's degree in nurse anesthesia. Considering the demand for CRNAs, baby boomers are in need of such nurses for medical procedures requiring anesthesia.

home nurse

Family nurse practitioners provide comprehensive primary care services to individuals, families and communities. They are trained in nursing and medicine. These nurses provide a wide range of services, from health promotion and disease prevention to diagnosing and treating acute and chronic conditions.

FNP is in high demand and demand is expected to grow. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics projects that employment of FNPs will increase 31% from 2018 to 2028.

certified nurse midwife

Nurses who choose to take a more specialized route in their career may choose midwifery certification. Midwifery certification allows nurses to assist parents during critical birth and in-between moments.

There are dozens of certifications that nurses can earn, and there are many ways to increase your knowledge and salary. Considering that baby boomers are at their peak when it comes to hospital visits, it's imperative to diversify your abilities as a nurse.

Article recommended